KCACTF 5 HOTLINE: (612) 405-2283
Marriott Conference Center Wi-Fi password is KCACTF

Click here to go directly to the Interactive Festival 1-Map.

Click here to go here for the Region 5 Blog including the most up to the minute information, including Irene Ryan Semi-Finalists, Finalists, SDC finalists, etc.




Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Missouri

Hosted by the Greater Des Moines Convention & Visitor's Bureau in partnership with Iowa State University and Grand View University.

Sponsored by the Des Moines Social Club, Hoyt Sherman Place, Des Moines Performing Arts and The Iowa Pork Producers.

January 21-27, 2018

The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts

David M. Rubenstein, Chairman
Deborah F. Rutter, President
Mario R. Rossero, Senior Vice President for Education
Kelsey Mesa, Producing Director KCACTF
Gregg Henry, Artistic Director KCACTF

National Chair - John Binkley, California State University, Northridge
National Vice Chair - Michelle Bombe, Hope College
Chair, National Playwriting Program - Richard Herman, University of Central Missouri
Vice Chair, National Playwriting Program - Jim Holmes, Loyala Marymount University
National Playwriting Program Member-at-Large - Steve Feffer, Western Michigan University
Regional Chair at Large - Elizabeth Van Den Berg, McDaniel University
National Chair, Design, Technology and Management - Jesse Dreikosen, University of Idaho
National Vice Chair, Design, Technology and Management - Val Winkelman, Auburn University
Design, Technology and Management Member at Large - John Devlin, Saint Michaels College



Trina Flack - Primary Festival Liason
Laura Briggs
Parker Murphy
Addison Bratvold

Kristin Larson , Grand View University - Grand View Volunteer Coordinator
Amanda Petefish-Schrag, Iowa State University - Iowa State Volunteer Coordinator
Brad Buffum, University of Nebraska - Lincoln - Ticketing Coordinator
Jim Trenberth, Iowa State University - Stoner Theater Technical Coordinator
Jay Jagim, Repertory Theater of Iowa - Kum & Go Theater Technical Coordinator
Kelly Schaefer, Iowa State University - Hospitality Coordinator
Brandon Kair, Dakota Sommers, Lauren Dursky, Miles Graham - Associate Technical Coordinators


CD Adamson, Central College, Musical Theatre Intensive Coordinator
Rick Anderson, Kirkwood Community College, Immediate Past Chair
Jim Bartruff, Emporia State University, Institute for Theatre Journalism and Advocacy Coordinator
Anne Byrd, Normandale Community College, Financial Director & Past Chair
Sean Byrd, Normandale Community College, National Playwriting Programs Vice-Chair
Brad Carlson, University of Missouri, Workshop Coordinator
Emily Cherry, North Dakota State University, Irene Ryan Coordinator
Brad Dell*, Iowa State University, Regional Chair
Patricia Downey, University of South Dakota, Professional Audition Coordinator
Cat Gleason, University of Missouri, Dramaturgy Coordinator
Paul Hustoles, Minnesota State University, Mankato, Registrar
Cory Johnson, St. Ambrose University, Directing Initiatives Coordinator
Julie Mollenkamp*, University of Central Missouri, Chair National Playwriting Programs
Patrick Reading, Hutchinson Community College, Stage Management Coordinator
Kelly Schaefer, Iowa State University, Design, Technology & Management Vice-Chair
Ben Stark*, Kansas State University, Chair Design, Technology & Management
Tom Woldt, ACTION Talent Group, Webmaster, Historian & Past Chair
W. James Wood*, South Dakota State University, Regional Vice-Chair
*=Regional Executive Committee


Katheryn Bilbo, Northwest Missouri State University, Dramaturgy Associate Coordinator
Diedra Enz-Mattox, Huthinson Community College, Institute for Theatre Journalism and Advocacy Associate Coordinator
RJ Fitzsimmons, Augustana University, Stage Crew Showdown Associate Coordinator
David Charles Goyotte, Truman State University, Irene Ryan Associate Coordinator
Richard “Buzz" Herman, University of Central Missouri, Invited Scene Showcase Coordinator
Harold Hynick, Missouri Valley College, Invited Scene Showcase Associate Coordinator
Benji Inniger, Bethany Lutheran Community College, College Fair Coordinator
Mark Kelty, Central Methodist University, Directing Associate Coordinator
Bethany Larson, Buena Vista University, Faculty Acting Showcase Associate Coordinator
Kelly MacLeod, Dakota State University, Diversity Coordinator
Steve McLean, Simpson College, Stage Crew Showdown Coordinator
Scott Mollman, University of South Dakota, Workshop Associate Coordinator
Caitlin Quinn, University of South Dakota, Costume Parade Associate Coordinator
Tracy Salter, Graceland University, Irene Ryan Associate Coordinator
Kelly Schaefer, Iowa State University, Expo Coordinator
Nadine Schmidt, Southwest Minnesota State University, Faculty Acting Showcase Coordinator
Mike Ricci, North Hennepin Community College, Devised Theatre Coordinator
Victor Shonk, University of South Dakota, Professional Auditions Associate Coordinator - Technical Interviews
Aili Smith, Minot State University, Devised Theatre Associate Coordinator
Jeff Stover, Missouri Western State University, Load In/Out Coordinator
Sheila Tabaka, Southwest Minnesota State University, Portfolio Review/Awards and Certificates Coordinator
Billy Wilburn, South Dakota State University, Costume Parade Coordinator
Heather Williams, Winona State University, Professional Auditions Associate Coordinator
Lindsay Williams, Riverland Community College,Musical Theatre Intensive Singing Associate Coordinator
Adam Yankowy, Iowa State University, Musical Theatre Intensive Dance Associate Coordinator

National KCACTF Sponsorship and Funding:

The Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival™ 50, part of the Rubenstein Arts Access Program, is generously funded by David and Alice Rubenstein.

Special thanks to The Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust for supporting the John F. Kennedy Center of the Performing Arts' Kennedy Center American College Theater Festival.

Additional support is provided by The Honorable Stuart Bernstein and Wilma E. Bernstein; the Dr. Gerald and Paula McNichols Foundation; Beatrice and Anthony Welters and the AnBryce Foundation.

KCACTF is part of JFKC: A Centennial Celebration of John F. Kennedy, inspired by five enduring ideals often ascribed to JFK: Courage, Freedom, Justice, Service, and Gratitude. Support for JFKC: A Centennial Celebration of John F. Kennedy is provided by Ambassador Elizabeth Frawley Bagley, Chevron, the Blanche Irving Laurie Foundation, and Target.

Kennedy Center education and related artistic programming is made possible through the generosity of the National Committee for the Performing Arts and the President's Advisory Committee on the Arts.