2019 OMEA State Marching Band Finals


We would like to take this opportunity to welcome all performers, parents, school administrators, friends and music boosters to the 2019 Ohio Music Education Association State Marching Band Finals. During the four days of performances you will see and hear some of the finest high school marching bands in the state of Ohio. You will witness the true meaning of creativity, imagination, dedication and commitment. You will experience music education in action!

The evolution of the OMEA State Marching Band Finals into a positive educational showcase is due to the commitment and leadership provided by our past Marching Band Affairs Chairs. They are: Stephan Berry, Richard Rhodes, Larry Kelley, William Guegold, William Wittman, Randall Clark, Michael Gallehue, Patricia Meeks, John Purdy, Brian Stevens, Dave Handshue and JD Latorre. We owe these educators a debt of gratitude for their service and leadership to OMEA. We are proud to embrace the responsibilities of the Marching Band Affairs and Adjudications Chairs to further nurture music education through the marching band activity in the state of Ohio.

A sincere thank you goes out to the many OMEA officials, volunteer groups, booster groups, and the staff of Hilliard Bradley High School, Brunswick High School, and Dayton Welcome Stadium who have all helped to make these State Finals a success. We would also like to acknowledge those of you who are proud parents of band members for your continuing support of Music Education! While these State Marching Band Finals might be the most visible part of your community's band program, please continue to support your musicians throughout the rest of the school year at concerts, solo and ensemble, pep band, winter drumline, and winter guard performances, as well as the host of other musical activities in which these students will embark.

You are about to be amazed by the high level of performances today. Be prepared to get on your feet and help us celebrate the accomplishments of these fine young people who have chosen to pursue excellence in music!

JD Latorre

Marching Band Affairs Chair

Chris Carmean

Marching Band Adjudications Chair