David B. Coe

David B. Coe, who also writes as D.B. Jackson, is the award-winning author of sixteen novels and the occasional short story. Writing under his own name (http://www.DavidBCoe.com) he is currently working on a contemporary urban fantasy called the Case Files of Justis Fearsson, which will be published by Baen Books. The first book, Spell Blind, will be out in January 2015; the second volume, HIs Father's Eyes, comes out in the summer of 2015.  Writing under the D.B. Jackson pen name (http://www.DBJackson-Author.com), he is the author of the Thieftaker Chronicles, a series set in pre-Revolutionary Boston that combines elements of urban fantasy, mystery, and historical fiction. The first three volumes, Thieftaker, Thieves' Quarry, and A Plunder of Souls, are out from Tor Books.  The fourth volume, Dead Man's Reach, will also be published in the summer of 2015. Previously, David has written the LonTobyn Chronicle, a trilogy that received the Crawford Fantasy Award as the best work by a new author in fantasy, as well as the critically acclaimed Winds of the Forelands quintet and Blood of the Southlands trilogy. He has also written the novelization of director Ridley Scott’s movie, Robin Hood, starring Russell Crowe. David’s books have been translated into a dozen languages.
He received his undergraduate degree from Brown University and his Master’s and Ph.D. in U.S. history from Stanford University.  He co-founded and regularly contributes to the Magical Words group blog (http://magicalwords.net), a site devoted to discussions of the craft and business of writing fantasy, and is co-author of How To Write Magical Words: A Writer’s Companion.